District Assembly

District Assembly is a key step in preparing for the coming Rotary year. This year’s District Assembly was on 18th May, preparing for the year 2019-2020. 450 Rotarians from across the district gathered at Loughborough university.  The programme included presentations and discussion groups covering all aspects of Rotary Service.  Clubs left well prepared for developing robust plans for their programmes for 2019-2020. The programme and details of the breakout sessions are below.

Rodney Spokes, as incoming District Governor, gave his first address, introducing the theme for the year:
“Together, we see a world where people unite and take action to create lasting change — across the globe, in our communities, and in ourselves.” The animated logo used is available by clicking here. His full opening speech is available at this link.

In his closing presentation DGE Rodney presented a video-recorded message from RIBI President Donna Wallbank. Her message is available at:
HIGH RESOLUTION (file size 1.5 GB) – https://we.tl/t-JKkif85qbS
LOW RESOLUTION (file size 200 MB) – https://we.tl/t-2y9EZ0cZm9
Both links will take you to a website called WeTransfer, where you can download the single MP4 files.

Other documents and presentations are listed below:

AG breakout sessions for incoming presidents:

Membership Breakout slides and files:

Community Team Breakout slides and files:

The Rotary Foundation

All the Rotary Foundation slides are available from  Hugh Holden, DRFC, foundation@rotary1070.org

International Team

All the International presentations, including the videos, are on the International team’s pages at https://rotary1070.org/international/

Communications Team

Click here to see the notes from the presentations at the Communications team breakout session.


PROGRAMME (subject to change)

8.30 a.m.      Arrival in the Foyer Stuart Mason Building, pick up your delegates badge from the registration desks.

8.30 a.m.      Tea/Coffee and biscuits served from a number of points in the assembly area.   Bacon rolls on sale.

9.15 a.m.      Assemble in the Exhibition area of the James France Building.

                     Call to Order                                         Sergeant at Arms: Rtn Bill Hill

9.25 a.m.      Plenary Session

                     General Welcome

                     Act of Remembrance and meditation

                     Introduction of District Governor 2019/20 Rodney Spokes

District Governor 2018/19 Rtn Tim Tucker

                    A preliminary address            District Governor 2019/20  Rtn Rodney Spokes

                    Announcements                                      Sergeant at Arms: Rtn Bill Hill

9.50 a.m.      Dispersal to Group Rooms     (Room allocations are shown below)

1.00 p.m.     All reassemble for the Final Plenary Session in the Exhibition area of the James France Building

                     Address by                                              District Governor 2019/20  Rtn Rodney Spokes

                    Closing remarks by                                  District Governor 2019/20  Rtn Tim Tucker

1.30 p.m.     Fellowship

Bar facilities with wine stations will be available in the Cayley & Rutherford restaurants.  Stewards to direct delegates.

2.00 p.m.     Lunch in the Cayley & Rutherford Restaurants

Dispersal – Home

ROOM ALLOCATION – to be added – watch this space

Group Leader(s) Building Room
Assistant Governors      
Area 1 Colin Scott James France D.  2.02
Area 2 James Wood Stuart Mason SMB 1.05
Area 3 Mike Warrington Stuart Mason SMB 1.04
Area 4 Gloria Heywood Stuart Mason SMB 0.08
Area 5 David Kendrick James France CC 01.09
Area 6 Steve Howe James France CC 01.10
Area 7 Nigel Aaron Stuart Mason SMB 0.10
Area 8 David Morris Stuart Mason SMB 1.02
Area 9 Les Aldrich Stuart Mason SMB 0.02
Community  Bill Watson James France D.1.09 (Note change)
Membership (Attract and Engage) Graham Martin
Dick Parsley
James France CC 0.11

Inc Compliance

Roger McDermott
Louise Willis
James France CC 0.12
International  Joel Weaver James France CC 0.13
Foundation Hugh Holden Stuart Mason SMB 0.14 / SMB 1.03
New Members  Jim Davies James France D. 2.01
Public Image & Communications Eddie Pearson James France D. 0.02 (Note change)
Treasurers Steve Chambers  James France D. 1.02
Youth Service (incl. Interact & YE)  Alan Jukes Stuart Mason SMB 0.17


District Council Meetings 2019/20

Day Date
Thursday 18th July 2019
Wednesday 27th November 2019
Tuesday 17th March 2020

Venue: Greetham Valley Golf Course, Greetham, Oakham, LE15 7SN

All Commencing at 7.30 p.m.   

District Conference

20th– 22nd September 2019 – Southport